The Trials of Apollo: The Hidden Oracle Quicky Review

ToA1

Rick Riordan is at it again with The Hidden Oracle, the first book in his new series The Trials of Apollo. The premise of the series follows the greek god Apollo who has been turned into a mortal as a punishment from his father, Zeus. In order to regain his godly status he must complete several trials all while learning how to survive in the mortal world.

So quicky review: I loved this book. I finished it in three day. It was such a fun, easy read, and reminded me exactly why I love Rick Riordan’s writing so much. The character of Apollo is hilarious, I spent the whole book giggling to myself. Also ever chapter starts out with a haiku and that just makes my litter nerd heart sing.

Though Riordan writes for middle grade audience, he addresses the issue of emotional abuse perfectly and doesn’t bat an eyelash at writing character with varying sexualities. This is what I love so much about him, though he writes for a younger audience it never feels like he is talking down to them.

All in all I gave this book a 4/5 on Goodreads and I can’t wait for the next book to be released!

Leave a Reply

