Heroes of Olympus Review

After reading Rick Riordan’s new book, The Trials of Apollo, in June I made it my summer mission to finish his Heroes of Olympus series. I had read the first three books already but the series fell off my radar while I was waiting for the last two to come out. Now since I read ToA first, the ending of HoO was kind of spoiled for me. Not that middle grade fiction tends to have many unpredictable twists to it really. Anyways on to the review!

The Lost Hero

The debut novel to the series follows the demigods Jason, Piper, and Leo on their quest for answers. Jason has no memory of who he is or where he’s from. Piper’s movie-star father has been missing for days. Leo has a way with tools inherited from his late mother, or so he believes. I really liked this book. I love how Riordan just drops you into the story along with Jason. It made me even more invested in the story because I needed the answers as much as the characters did. Solid debut novel for this series. I gave it a 4/5 on Goodreads.

The Son of Neptune

The Son of Neptune follows the demigods Percy, Hazel, and Frank. The book starts with Percy Jackson in the same situation as Jason from book one. He doesn’t remember anything about his life except for one name: Annabeth. Percy makes his way to the Roman version of Camp Half-Blood, Camp Jupiter, where he must prove himself to his new friends before taking on a quest of his own. All I can say about this book is THANK GOD HE REMEMBERS ANNABETH. I was way too invested in that ship for it to sink because of some lousy amnesia. I also loved learning all about the new Roman camp. It’s so different from the Camp Half-Blood we know and love but Percy fit right in. What I loved the most about this book was that it was so Percy-centric. I love Percy Jackson so much and I was so excited to have another book with him front and center. I gave this book a 4/5 as well.

The Mark of Athena

 

The Mark of Athena joins together the teams from the first too books, along with Annabeth to pursue a quest in the “ancient lands”. Percy, Annabeth, Jason, Piper, Frank, Hazel and Leo are the demigods chosen by Hera in accordance with the Prophecy of the Seven. We learn in this book that these are the demigods who are destined to save the world from Gaea’s reawakening. The two sides finally joining forces made this book a winner for me. I loved how the dynamics between all the characters changed and evolved. The character development in this book was incredible. I gave this book a 5/5 on Goodreads.

The House of Hades

The third book in the series took a dark turn. Unsurprising since it follows Percy and Annabeth fighting their way through Tartarus and the rest of the gang racing to meet them on the other side. If I thought the character development in The Mark of Athena was good, this book was next level. The characters all had to face their greatest fears, worries, and doubts but somehow came out of it stronger than ever. I adored watching Percy and Annabeth’s relationship evolve through this book. I love them so much I will ship them until my dying day. However, I wasn’t as invested in the trial and tribulations of the rest of the group. I gave this book a 4/5 on Goodreads.

The Blood of Olympus

 

Ah, the final chapter. Every quest and every rivalry culminated into one giant battle. However, the battle was not my favourite part. The best part of this book, in my opinion, was the unlikely friendship that spawned between Nico and Reyna. They both hold so much sadness within them and refuse to let anyone help. I think that’s what draws them together. Despite their differences, despite the Greek/Roman feud, they see themselves in each other. Also Reyna is such a bad ass boss lady. She kicks so much monster butt and she does it almost all alone. I would love a series with her as a main character. The battles with the rest of The Seven were fantastic too, especially the final battle at Camp Half-Blood. An epic conclusion to an epic series. I gave it a 5/5 on Goodreads.

Overall the series did not disappoint. I love Rick Riordan. He writes middle grade so well without ever talking down to his audience. He can be funny and heartfelt in the same paragraph. He handles heavy topics with ease. The way he crafts relationships and friendships is unbeatable. He is, and always will be, one of my top insta-buy authors.

Leave a Reply

