September Wrap-Up

Ah, September… the month that should be fall but isn’t.

This month flew by so quickly for me. I feel like it was just yesterday that I was gearing up to head back to school and now here we are a month in, freedom a distant memory.

At the beginning of the month I was worried that my TBR might have been a bit too ambitious but guess what y’all, I finished it! *self high-five* School work be damned!  (But not actually… school is important.)

Without further ado, here is my September wrap-up.

I started the month off by finishing the final book in the Heroes of Olympus series, The Blood of Olympus. You can read more about my thoughts on that book/series in the in-depth review post I made a few weeks ago. Quicky-review: I loved it. I love this series. I love Percy Jackson. I gave this book a 5/5 on Goodreads.

blood_of_o_final_cvr

Next up was my most highly anticipated book of the month, if not the entire summer, Empire of Storms by the queen Mrs. Sarah J. Maas. I had such high expectations for this book. I am so obsessed with this series and usually I fly through her books within a few days, but not this one. To be fair it is so long it had to be printed on thin, bible pages. It took me most of the month to finish it. I’ll have a more extensive review up in a few days but for now I can say that though I did love it, it was not as all-consuming as her books usually are for me. As much as I loved Rowaelin in Queen of Shadows, I miss old-school Celaena. I was complete trash of Manorian though, that ship straight up slayed me. Anyways I’m getting away from myself here, for more of my senseless ranting tune in next week for a full review. Overall I still gave this book a 4/5 on Goodreads.

eos-cover

I closed out the month reading Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl. This book, guys. This book. I have had this book on my long-term TBR for a while now but I never really felt pressed to read it. After finishing EoS I felt like I needed something a little lighter so I finally picked it up. What I was not expecting at all was that I would instantly fall in love. This book swept me off my feet. I couldn’t stop reading from the get-go and finished it in 3 days. I. Loved. This. Book. I wish there were more of it, or a sequel, or something. I love Cath, I love her roommate, but most of all… I love Levi. I want my own personal Levi and it’s just not fair that he’s a fictional character. I always forget how much I love Rainbow Rowell’s writing until I’m reading it, and then I can’t get enough. She writes the best mundane, yet complex characters and crafts the most shipworthy love stories. Love, love, love. Solid 5/5 on Goodreads.

fangirl

And that’s it! Stay tuned next week for my EoS review and my October TBR.

Happy Fall Y’all! And happy first day of Halloween 🎃

 

Leave a Reply

