October Wrap-Up

Hello lovelies!

25065433-_uy200_Ho’ boy was October ever a rough one. It’s tragic that the best month of the year brings midterms in its wake. It was a month jam packed with stress, studying, and panic writing. Thank god for books or I wouldn’t have made it out on the proper side of sanity. Without further ado, here are the five books I read this month!

First up is Jandy Nelson’s I’ll Give You the Sun. In my October TBR I mentioned how much praise this book has gotten, and I can honestly say that every word is deserved. This book was so good. It had me hooked from the get-go and left me begging for more.
Solid 5/5 on Goodreads.a-monster-calls

Next we have another book of high acclaim, Patrick Ness’ A Monster Calls. There’ not much I can say about this one that hasn’t already been said. It’s touching and thoughtful and hits you right where it hurts. Another 5/5 on Goodreads.

Following Mr. Ness was the book I received in the September 41nhwszqa7lOwlCrate box, Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake. The book was a slow-starter. It took me quite a while to get into the story, in fact I wasn’t completely invested until the last few chapters. The build up in this novel was insane. A good ¾ of the novel was spent world building and inching the players closer together. It felt a little tedious until suddenly everything collided and boy oh boy was it a doozy. I gave this book a 3/5 on Goodreads, but I am definitely looking forward to the sequel to see how everything plays out.a-shadow-bright-and-burning

Next I got into my last-minute impulse buys starting with A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess. This book was also a bit rough to jump into. It took me about halfway through to truly invest. Also the whole Magnus subplot bugged me, and Blackwoods complete 180 came out of nowhere. All things considered it was a good light read with some romance and some magic. I gave it a 4/5 on Goodreads but I look forward to seeing where the series will lead.

labyrinth-lostFinally, finished just in the knick of time, came Zoraida Cordova’s Labyrinth Lost. I really loved this book. It plunged into the action right away, had a swoon-worthy bad-boy, and a ton of strong female characters. This is the first book I’ve read that explores Latin American mythology and I have to say, I’m all in. I loved the world, the mythos, the stories. Love, love, love. This book was another 5/5 for me.

Overall it was an iffy month for me, a few books didn’t hit as hard as I anticipated but I have high hopes for their sequels. Anyways, that’s all from me for today! Keep an eye out for my November TBR coming soon!

Leave a Reply

