November Wrap-Up

Holy cow did this month ever fly by. I was basically a nonstop stress mess for 3o days straight, yet somehow I still managed to read 5 books. My procrastination skills know no bounds. I started off the month reading the book sent to me in the October OwlCrate box, Vassa in the Night. Then I binged the entire Falling Kingdoms series in preparation for the new release coming in December. I was a little weary about the series since it has been so hyped up, but damn was that hype ever deserved. I became almost instantly obsessed and now I’m dying of anticipation wait for book 5. Anyways, without further ado here’s my November wrap-up!

I started off the month with Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter which I gave a 3/5 on Goodreads. This book was super odd. The idea behind it was so interesting and I was so looking forward to diving into some Russian folklore, but I just could not get into the author’s writing style. Something about it just didn’t work for me, I kept finding myself taken out of the story by one thing or another. It wasn’t bad writing by any means and the story itself was fine, but it just wasn’t for me.

After the slight disappointment I felt coming out of Vassa, I was ready to dive back into my high fantasy addiction. And dive I did! Morgan Rhodes’ Falling Kingdoms series was everything I wanted and more, but before I get ahead of myself let’s start off with book 1. I gave the debut novel a 4/5 on Goodreads. While I really enjoyed it, there were a few things that bugged me a bit and kept me from getting fully immersed. The biggest qualm with this book was the incest subplot. I hate the weird trope where one sibling is in love with another. Incest is not sexy, it’s creepy. Please YA authors, stop with the incest.

I gave book 2, Rebel Spring, a 4/5 on Goodreads as well. Thought it could be bumped up to a 4.5 because I really did enjoy reading it and it was the book that got me fully obsessed with the series. I don’t want to get into any spoilers so I’ll leave it at that.

Again to avoid spoilers I’m going to keep my discussion of book 3 and 4 super brief as well. I gave book 3, Gathering Darkness, a 5/5 on Goodreads because holy crap y’all it was so good. I gave book 4, Frozen Tides, a 5/5 on Goodreads because holy mother of god it was crazy. So many plot twists. Also, my ship finally became canon and it was everything.

Overall, I had a pretty good reading month. I started reading Heartless by Marissa Meyer yesterday and I’m still only a few chapters in, but I’m already loving it. Meyer is one of my automatic-buy authors, I always know I’ll love anything she’s written. I’m sure it’ll be a 5/5 in my December wrap-up. Speaking of, I can’t believe that tomorrow is December 1st! The first two weeks are sure to be a total nightmare, exam season always is, but then I have the rest of the month off for winter break and boy am I excited. I can’t wait to go home and visit my family and do a bunch of fun Christmassy stuff and just relax. I hope you all had a good November and I’ll be back soon with my December TBR so keep your eyes peeled!

Leave a Reply

