December TBR

Happy first day of Christmas! Despite exam season, December is one of my favourite months of the year. I love Christmas. I love getting to see my family. I love the traditions. I love how pretty everything looks with all the snow and fairy lights. I also love the break from class. As much as I enjoy school, I’m always jonesing for some R’n’R by the time December rolls around. This holiday I heartlesshave a slightly ambitious TBR. I’m hoping to have loads of free time to read while I’m home visiting my family, but a few of the books I’ve chosen are quite long. I have faith in my binging-reading abilities! Without further ado, here are the five books I hope to read this month.

First up is the book I started at the end of November, Heartless by Marissa Meyer. I’m about halfway through now and so far I’m loving it. I love the romance between Catherine and Jest and I breaks my mytruelovegavetomeheart that I know it can’t have a happy ending. I’m living in denial choosing to believe that everything will work out, but seeing as it’s an origin story for the Queen of Hearts the chances aren’t great.

Next, I want to read the holiday compilation My True Love Gave to Me. This book has a bunch of different holiday-themed stories written by various YA authors including Rainbow Rowel, Holly Black, Laini Taylor, and David Levithan. I’m going to read this one once exams are over to help get me back into the holiday spirit. Plus a little light romance-y YA is exactly what I’ll need after all the writing and reading and cramming that exam season is sure to entail.

Once I’m home I am going to spend all my free the-kingkiller-chroniclestime reading the first two novels in Patrick Rothfuss’ Kingkiller Chronical series, The Name of the Wind and The Wise Man’s Fear. These books have been so well loved by all fantasy lovers. It’s been recommended to me more times than I can count and now I’m finally jumping in.

The last book on my list is Carry On by Rainbowcarryon Rowel. This book is the full-length version of the fanfic that Cath was writing during Fangirl that is kind of based off of the Harry Potter world. I’m not sure if I’ll have time to get to this one after all the holiday craziness but, by George, I’m going to try!

And that, my dears, is all. I hope you all have a wonderful holiday season and for those of you who are in school like me, best of luck in all of your upcoming finals!

Leave a Reply

