December Wrap-Up and January TBR

Happy New Year! Though I’m not really one for new year’s resolutions, I am excited for the fresh surge of hope that a new year brings. I think this is especially true coming off of the dumpster fire that was 2016, everyone is more than ready to put last year behind us and start anew.

That being said, though I did reach my 2016 Goodreads goal, December was not my best reading month. I started off the month with such high ambitions but in the end, I hardly made a dent reading only 2/5 of the books on my original TBR.

I started out December finishing Heartless by Marissa Meyer. This book is an Alice in Wonderland retelling that tells the story of the Queen of Hearts before she became queen. I could not be any more obsessed with this book, I loved it so much. I want my own Jest. Marissa Meyer writes relationships so well. I gave this books a solid 5/5 on Goodreads.

Next, I read My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories. This collection included twelve holiday-centered love stories written by some of the top YA writers. My favorite stories were “Midnights” by Rainbow Rowell, “It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown” by Stephanie Perkins, and “Welcome to Christmas, CA” by Kiersten White. It was just such a cute collection that was perfect to get me feeling festive after finals. I gave this book a 4/5 on Goodreads because there were a couple of stories that just weren’t my style.

Moving on to my January TBR, I’m planning on pushing the leftovers from December over to this month. I plan on finishing Patrick Rothfuss’ The Name of the Wind first. I’m about halfway through this book even though I started it nearly a month ago. I am really enjoying this book, but it is taking me forever to read. It’s a behemoth.

After I finish The Name of the Wind, I want to take a little break from the series and read Rainbow Rowell’s Carry On. I’ve been wanting to read this one ever since I finished Fangirl. I’m hoping to blast through this one as quickly as I did Fangirl because lord knows I love a good Rainbow Rowell book. I also love a good Harry Potter fanfic so this book is the best of both worlds.

Following Carry On, I can’t wait to dive into the new Falling Kingdom’s book Crystal Storm by Morgan Rhodes. The ending of the last book left me needing so much more from these characters. Without getting into any spoilers, there is a certain ship that has been four books in the making that better damn work out.

The last book I want to get to this month is the concluding novel from Erika Johansen’s The Queen of the Tearling series, The Fate of the Tearling. This series was one of my favorite fantasy series that I read last year. I just love the main character, Kelsey. She is so strong and smart, and I love reading about her political and person struggles.

And there it is! Hopefully, this month’s TBR will go a little better than last month’s. I will have some extra free time before school kicks back into full gear so that should give me plenty of reading time.

I hope you had a great holiday season and I wish you all the best for the new year!

Leave a Reply

