Top 10 Books of 2016

For starters, this list was nearly impossible to make because I marathoned through some fantastic series in 2016, and choosing only 10 books out of the 30ish was a tough job. Also, I should mention that this list includes books that weren’t published in 2016 but only read for this first time last year. Without further ado, and in no particular order, here are the top 10 books I read in 2016!

Without further ado, and in no particular order, here are the top 10 books I read in 2016!

1. First up on my list is The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen, the sequel to The Queen of the Tearling. I just adore this series. The main character, Kelsey, is just so wonderful. She is strong and powerful and smart, but she’s also very young and flawed. This makes her such an interesting character to follow as she tries to navigate the politics involved in running a country headed for war.

2. Next up is Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas. I actually read the entire series in 2016, so it was nearly impossible to choose which one was my favourite. In the end, it had to be this one because I just loved how all the different characters came together in this book. Also, the jailbreak at the beginning of this book was possibly one of my favourite scenes. Honourable mention goes to Crown of Midnight because I was totally obsessed with the friendship between Celena and Nehemia, and also the relationship between Celena and he-who-shall-not-be-named.

3. Number three is another Sarah J. Maas book, A Court of Mist and Fury. This book. Holy crap. It’s been months and I still can’t form coherent thoughts. This book gave me my biggest book hangover of 2016, I just couldn’t get it out of my head. I can’t express how much I need, need, need the next book right now ASAP.

4. In 2016 I read the entire Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan, and number four on my list is my favourite book of that series, The Mark of Athena. This book was really my favourite because I got so much Percy and Annabeth, sure they may have been separated for a lot of it, but any book that shows of Annabeth’s strength and smarts is #1 in my books.

5. Next up is another Rick Riordan book, the first in his new Trials of Apollo series, The Hidden Oracle. This book was so dang good. It had everything you could possibly want from a middle-grade adventure: action, friendship, and a whole lot of laughs. This may actually be Riordan’s funniest book to date. The character of Apollo is just written so well, and seeing a god like him stuck in a teenage boy’s body makes for good comedy. I can’t wait for the next book to come out this year.

6. I have been putting off reading this book for a few years now, unsure of whether or not I would like it, but this year I finally gave into the hype and read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. And thank the lord I did because it may be my favourite book of the entire year. I don’t know why I was surprised, I love everything this author has ever written. Rowell just knows how to write relationships so well, whether it be familial, friendly, or romantic. Fangirl had all three, and all three were written beautifully. I loved the relationship between the twin sisters. I loved Cath’s relationship with her roommate. And above all, I loved the relationship between Cath and Levi. I want my own Levi. The only bad think I could ever say about Rainbow Rowell is that she sets unrealistic expectations for non-fictional men.

7. Number seven is my first foray into the books of Patrick Ness with A Monster Calls. I started with this one because I knew that a movie was coming out and I wanted to read the book first. I am so glad I did. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I can only hope it will be as beautiful and touching as the book. This one really pulled on the heartstrings. I cried.

8. The next book on my list is another book with a spectacularly written familial relationship between twins, I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. I loved the way this book was written. From one perspective, we have the brother telling his part of the story from the past, and from the other perspective, we have the sister telling her part of the story in present day.

9. The second-to-last book on my list is the fourth book in Morgan Rhodes Falling Kingdoms series, Frozen Tides. Again it was hard to choose a favourite after bingeing this series in the month of November, but this book is where everything really came to a head. Also, my favourite ship was made canon so it had to be #1. Honourable mention goes to book three Gathering Darkness.

10. The final book on my list is one of the last books I read last year, Heartless by Marissa Meyer. This book hooked me right away and I could not stop reading. Just so addictive. Marissa Meyer writes romantic relationships so well, I had no chance against the love between Catherine and Jest.

And there we have it! My top 10 books I read in 2016! I can’t wait to see what great books 2017 will bring.

Leave a Reply

