February Wrap-Up

Even though February is the shortest month of the year, it felt extremely long for me. I can hardly remember anything that happened at the beginning of the month. That begin said, I did manage to read five books this month so let’s get on with the wrap-up!

I started the month reading the first two books in The Remnant Chronical series by Mary E. Pearson. I really enjoyed the first book, but I definitely preferred the second one. The Kiss of Deception was a great introductory novel. It did such an excellent job with world-building, and I really got to know the main character, Lia. However, it was The Heart of Betrayal that did me in. I became so invested so quickly. After reading the second book, I can say with certainty that I am Team Kaden. I loved learning about his backstory and his relationship with the Komisar. He has undergone so many hardships and has fought so hard for survival, which I always find to be a redeeming quality in even the most unsavory of characters. I love reading his struggle between the man the Komisar trained him to be, and the man he wants to be for Lia. I can’t wait for the third book to come out in paperback. On Goodreads, I gave The Kiss of Deception a 4/5, and The Heart of Betrayal a full 5/5.

Next up, I read Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. There are only two things you need to know about this book: pirates and time travel. If that’s not enough to convince you, then I don’t know what is. Needless to say, I loved this book. I want my own time traveling pirate boy to adventure with. As soon as I finished Passenger, I immediately went online to order the sequel, and I can’t wait for it to arrive. I gave this book 5/5 on Goodreads.

The fourth book I read this month was Roseblood by A.G. Howard, which I received in my January OwlCrate box. I was so excited to read this retelling of The Phantom of the Opera. I love the story so much, and the musical has been my favourite from the first time I saw it 10 years ago. It was the musical that spurred my love of twisted, dark love stories. I had such high hopes for this book, but unfortunately, it let me down. The whole psychic vampire subplot just threw me off completely. I gave this book a 3/5 on Goodreads because while it didn’t live up to my expectations, I didn’t completely hate it.

The final book I read in February, which I just finished earlier today, was Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. I loved, loved, loved this book. I loved the characters and how they all interacted with each other. I loved the world and the magic system. I loved every second of the plot, twists and all. This book deserves all the hype in the world. All of the characters in this book are so deeply flawed, but each with redeeming qualities that endear them to the reader and each other. The group dynamics between the six compatriots were just so much fun to read. I plan on starting the sequel, Crooked Kingdom, as soon as I finish writing this post! Solid 5/5 on Goodreads.

I can’t say I’m sad to see February end because it means we’re one step closer to Spring. It’s started feeling a little warmer here in Montreal, but I know it can’t last. We always seem to get one last dump of snow in March before Spring comes in full force. So here’s to the end of Winter and brighter, warmer days on the horizon!

Leave a Reply

