February/March Book Haul

I was supposed to be on a strict book buying ban. That’s what I told myself after my massive January haul. And yet, here I am six books richer. I blame Book Depository. They have such good prices and such beautiful cover designs that I can’t buy here in Canada. Sometimes the UK edition is just better, and lord knows I can’t resist a stunning book cover.

The book that started it all was this gorgeous Penguin Vintage Classics edition of one of my favourite books, The Night Circus. I mean, just look at it. It’s a work of art. And speaking of UK editions, the cover design for V.E. Schwab’s This Savage Song is just out of this world. I know most people prefer the US cover with all the red and black, but I’m a sucker for a simple white style like this one.

 

My next book was a total impulse buy. The instant I finished Passenger by Alexandra Bracken, I jumped right online to buy the sequel. I needed it in my hands ASAP. I can’t wait to dive into it and find out what happens with Nicholas and Etta, especially after the cliffhanger ending of Passenger.

 

This lovely hardcover edition of Caraval came to me in my February OwlCrate box. When I heard the theme for the February box was going to be based on The Night Circus, ordering it was a no-brainer. In the box, I received a Night Circus scented candle (from Frostbeard Studio), a Night Circus tote bag (designed by the brilliant eviebookish), among many other bookish goodies. The book, Caraval, has been described as being similar to The Night Circus, so I can’t wait to see what it’s like.

The last two books I ordered happened during a brief fit of insanity. I just got an unquenchable craving for some nerdy YA contemporary. By Your Side by Kasie West is about two teens who get locked in the library over the weekend. It’s supposed to be a quirky, fun, romantic read, which is just what I’m in the mood for right now. London Belongs to Me by Jacquelyn Middleton is a recent college graduate who escapes to London to follow her dreams of scriptwriting for the theater. The book is said to be full of nerd-culture, fangirly references I’m sure to love.

And there we have it; my haul for February and March! Well… hopefully. I cannot buy any more books this month, my bank account will revolt. Plus, I should definitely make my way through my ever-growing TBR before I purchase anything new. Anyway, I hope you’re all having a good month so far, and that you continue to do so on this long march to Spring (no pun intended).

Leave a Reply

