Top 5 Books I Read Winter 2016/17

The weather here in Montreal has been anything but spring-like this past week. This weekend we got down to -30°C (-22°F), and got another huge dump of snow up to 35 cm (14″). In an effort to summon forth real spring weather, I thought I would write about the top five books I read through December, January, February, and the first half of March. Without further ado, winter begone!

5. Heartless by Marissa Meyer

This book was my favourite read of December. Marissa Meyer really does know how to write the most captivating love stories. From the very beginning, you know this story doesn’t have a happy ending, but you can’t help becoming invested in the relationship between Cath and Jest. Meyer’s writing draws you into the universe she’s created, heart and soul. It may have been a retelling/prequel of Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland, but she made the world her own, and I loved every bit of it. I gave it a 5/5 on Goodreads.

4. The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

The Fate of the Tearling is the concluding novel of Johansen’s Queen of the Tearling series. This book was a rollercoaster. I can’t get too much into the specifics without spoiling the entire series, but I can say that the ending took me completely by surprise. When I first finished it, I was so angry, but after thinking about it for a while I know it was the best way to end it. I was just so invested in all of the characters that it completely broke my heart when they didn’t get the ending I envisioned. In this end, the conclusion was exactly what the story needed. I originally gave it a 4/5 on Goodreads, but the more I think about it, the more I love it. It’s definitely a book and a series that I’ll go back to and read again.

3. This Savage Song by V.E. Schwab

I actually just finished this book recently, so my love for it is still fresh in my mind. This Savage Song is the story of a human who wants to be a monster, a monster who wants to be a human, and the friendship that grows between them. I loved reading about each character’s struggle to be something they aren’t. Kate wants nothing more than to prove to her father that she can be as ruthless and cruel as he is. August was born a monster and is striving to hold on to his slipping humanity. One of the things I loved the most about this story is that there was no romantic subplot. Kate and Augusts are thrust together by their families at war with each other, and through it all, they develop a tenuous friendship that saves both of their lives. I gave this book a 5/5 on Goodreads and I can’t wait for the upcoming sequel that’ll be released this summer.

2. The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

This book was so beautiful. The story was so wonderfully crafted. Rothfuss is such a talented writer and storyteller. I don’t even know what else I can say about this book without sounding repetitive. Everything about it was great. The only reason it’s number two on my list is because I didn’t get as obsessively invested in it as I did for my number one pick. Regardless, this book was a joy to read in its own right. I gave it a 5/5 on Goodreads as well.

1. The Six of Crows series by Leigh Bardugo

Ok, so I’m cheating a little here. My number one book is actually two books, but I just couldn’t choose. I read Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom back to back, so it really did feel like reading one long book. I instantly became completely obsessed with the story and the characters. The plot was so exciting I never wanted to put it down. I loved every single character, but Inej was definitely my favourite. I’m always partial to strong female characters who are also deeply flawed. She has done and seen some pretty horrible things, but she knows who she is and what she believes in, and she will fight for the people she loves. The only downside of reading these two books in quick succession is that it’s over too quickly. The series was only a duology, so now I’m left wanting more from a story that’s finished. I gave both books 5/5 on Goodreads.

Honourable mention for this season goes to the first two books in The Remnant Chronicles  by Mary E. Pearson, Crystal Storm by Morgan Rhodesand Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. I read so many great books this winter it was almost impossible to choose a top five, and these books deserved some attention for almost making it. I can only hope my spring reading is just as full of amazing books.

 

 

Leave a Reply

