April TBR

Happy days are here again! Goodbye snow, hello April showers. I know a lot of people don’t love rain, but I do. All the snow and dirt gets washed away ready for a clean start. However, as much as I love the change in weather, April is set to be my most busy month, which I am not looking forward to. With the start of spring comes the end of the winter semester, so now is the time where everyone is rushing to finish their final projects and study for their exams, myself included. I have only about a week of school left at the time I’m writing this. One week untillondon belongs to me freedom. One dawn, one more day, one week more. Anytime I’m counting down to something I always get that Les Mis song stuck in my head. Anyway, with that long ramble over with here is what I’m planning on reading this month.

First on the list is my current read London Belongs to Me by Jacquelyn Middleton. This book is cute contemporary filled with nerdy references and clever humour. The story follows recent university graduate Alex Sinclair as she moves to London and tries to make her mark as a playwright. So far, I’ve been really enjoying it. As a fellow fangirl, I relate to Alex and her love of all things nerdy. I laugh so hard at every refwayfarererence she makes, and I share so many of the same interests, from her obsession with British television to her passion for Marvel and DC superheroes. I’m looking forward to seeing where this story will take me.

Following London Belongs to Me, I finally want to dive into Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken. This book is the sequel to Passenger, a magical novel about time travel, mystery, and pirates. It’s hard to talk about the plot to Wayfarer without getting into spoilers for Passenger. All I can say is that I’m looking forward to reading about the epic quest the characters have been drawn into! Also, I must reiterate the main selling point of these books: time traveling pirates!

islaUp next is Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins. Whenever spring comes around, I always find myself craving cute, romantic contemporaries. Something about the season puts me in the mood for a light, fun read that doesn’t have as much intensity and drama as my usual fantasy picks. I read Perkins’ other book, Anna and the French Kiss, earlier this year and absolutely loved it, so I have high hopes for Isla. I also have Perkins’ third book, Lola and the Boy Next Door, coming in the mail, so depending on when it arrives that may be added to this month’s list.

Considering how much work I have this month, I’m not sure if I’ll have that time to read any more than these three books. However, if by some miracle I manage to find the time, I would love to add Rainbow Rowell’s Carry On to this month’s TBR. I’ve wanted to read this one for months and months, it’s been on so many of my TBRs in the past, but I never get around to it. I know I’ll love it, I just have to start.

As much as I am looking forward to reading all these wonderful books, April is a bit of a filler month for me. There are so many books coming out at the beginning of May that I’ve been waiting a year or more for, I can hardly wait for them to arrive at my doorstep. Plus, once April is over, we are one step closer to summer!

Leave a Reply

