The Coffee Book Tag

It’s been raining all week here in Montreal, and that’s put me in a cozy mood. All I want to do is curl up with a cup of coffee, a book, and a blanket, and hide from all my 23C5E8C4-3B2F-45ED-8E72-5884DC8AF5A4.JPGresponsibilities. Since that’s not possible, I thought I would make up for it by participating in the coziest tag there is: the Coffee Book Tag (originally by BangadyBangz).

QUESTIONS:

  1. Black: Name a series that’s tough to get into but has hardcore fans.

The book I have for this first question is The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon. I’m not sure how widespread the fan base of this series is, but I know the few that are out there are definitely hardcore. The book is a little hard to get into since the world building is so intricate, but once you get through that confusion the resulting story is fantastic. I could not put this book, or its sequel, down. The third book in the series came out March 7th, and I can’t wait to dive in once my copy arrives.

  1. Peppermint mocha: Name a book that gets more popular during the winter or a festive time of year.

I have two answers for this one. The first, for me, is Harry Potter (any and all of them). There’s just something about the holiday season that makes me nostalgic for my old favourites. My sister and I always have a mini marathon of the movies while I’m home for the break, so Christmas time is Harry Potter time for me.

The second book is the compilation of holiday stories My True Love Gave to Me. The stories represent a diverse cast of characters of varying religions and are written by all your favourite Young Adult authors. It’s the perfect festive read.

  1. Hot chocolate: What is your favourite children’s book?

Hands down Love You Forever by Robert Munsch. My mom used to read it to me as a bedtime story, and while I worked as a camp counsellor I read it to my kids. My co-counsellor and I would read it together and sing the song part as a lullaby to help the young ones get to sleep. I hope to one day share it with my own children someday.

  1. Double shot of espresso: Name a book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

There are too many to choose from on this one, but if I had to choose one it would be A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. Honestly, any of SJMs books could answer this question because they’re all insane. However, ACOMAF was next level crazy from beginning to end.

Honourable mention goes to both books from the Six of Crows series by Leigh Bardugo.

  1. Starbucks: Name a book you see everywhere.

Since the Netflix series just came out, 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher seems to be everywhere I look. I’ve never read the book myself, but I hear the show is a smash hit.

  1. That hipster coffee shop: Give a book by an indie author a shoutout

I am so ashamed. I don’t have an answer for this one. I haven’t read and self-published/indie authors, but if you have any suggestions please let me know!

  1. Oops! I accidentally got decaf: Name a book you were expecting more from.

For this one, I have to go with Roseblood by A.G. Howard. This book is based on Gaston Leroux’s Phantom of the Opera, which is one of my all-time favourite stories (the musical especially). My biggest mistake was setting my expectations too high. It wasn’t a bad book, but it didn’t have as much dark, twisted mystery and romance as I was expecting. The original story makes me feel so many feelings (I cry every time I watch the musical), but this retelling left me wanting more.

  1. The perfect blend: Name a book or series that was both bitter and sweet but ultimately satisfying.

Without a doubt, the answer has to be The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johanssen. I love this series so much, but the concluding novel tore my heart to shreds. I can’t get into the reasons why without sharing some major spoilers, but I will say the plot twist in this book are mind-blowing.

2 thoughts on “The Coffee Book Tag

Leave a Reply

