books

May Wrap-Up

 

img_4899

Holy crap did May ever pass quickly! I don’t know how I managed to read seven books when the whole month felt only 7 days long! It’s like I blinked and *boom* it’s June.

new-sorcerers-stone-cover

Without any further ado, let’s get on with the wrap-up!

The first book I read in May christened the start of my summer-long Harry Potterathon. It took me only two days to read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, and, as good as it was, I think it’s my least favourite of the series. Maybe it’s because it felt the youngest to me, I’m not sure. I thoroughly enjoyed my re-read, but it wasn’t as all-consuming as it once was.

My next May read was actually a comic book. After hearing nothing but amazing things about the series, I decided to dive into Brian K. Vaughan’s Saga starting with volume 1. I flew through it, finishing it in only an hour. simonvsthehomoThe art is absolutely stunning. The story was so intriguing I immediately purchased volume 2 and I can’t wait to get to it later this month.I gave it a 4/5 on Goodreads.

Next up, while biding my time until my copy of ACOWAR arrived, I decided to pick up Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Backy Albertalli. This book was such a joy to read. Becky really knows how to get into the mind of a teenager. The story is endearingly relatable and the cast of characters refreshingly diverse. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda will leave you heart warmed and happy. I gave this book a 5/5 on Goodreads.

ACOWAR_USAnd now, my most anticipated book of the summer, A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas. I waited an entire year to get my hands on this baby and it did not disappoint. I know a lot of people have problems with this series but I am such trash for it. I think this book did a good job of wrapping up the original trilogy while still leaving the open-ended enough for her spin-off novels. This book wasn’t perfect, I’m not entirely pleased with how they handed the Tamlin arch and I felt that every conflict wrapped up too neatly too quickly. That being said, Sarah’s writing is completely addictive and the main relationship in this series is just wonderful to read. The second book is still my favourite, but this concluding novel perfectly satisfied my craving. I won’t go into any alwaysandforevermore detail of the plot or character relationships because spoilers! I gave ACOWAR a 4/5 on Goodreads.

After the emotional wreckage wrought I needed something light, happy, and cute, so of course, I turned to the queen of sweetness Jenny Han. Always and Forever, Lara Jean is the concluding novel of Han’s  To All the Boys I Loved Before trilogy. This book is the perfect summer read as it takes place in the time leading up to Lara Jean’s departure for college. This book had everything you love about Jenny Han’s writing; sisterly love, growing and changing family dynamics, and a sugary sweet love story as perfect as Lara Jean’s chocolate chip cookies. I gave this book a 4/5 on Goodreads. theupside

Up next I read the book I received in my April Owlcrate box, The Upside of Unrequited by Backy Albertalli. That’s right y’all, two Albertalli books in one wrap-up. My review for this book is almost identical to the previous one. Relatable, diverse, heartwarming, a joy to read. There isn’t really much more to say, other than READ ALL HER BOOKS. I promise you won’t regret it. Solid 5/5 on Goodreads.

Finally, wrapping up the month, I continued my Potterathon with Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. This book used to chamberofsecretsbe my least favourite of the series, but after this reread it’s definitely rising in the ranks. I much preferred this one to Philosopher’s Stone. I just love this series so much, doing this summer re-read was the best idea I ever had.

And there we have it! My May reading wrap-up! I hope you all had a lovely month, and I hope the spring showers didn’t hit you too hard. Summer it right around the corner! Bring it on June!

 

Leave a comment