June Wrap-Up

Man oh man was June ever busy. I don’t really even remember anything that happened this month, and I don’t remember reading that much either. I worked pretty much non-stop, spent a weekend back home with my family, then panicked for the last two weeks of the month leading up to my move.

I moved apartments, leaving my roommate of four years, yesterday and it was a nightmare 42 hours let me tell you. The day before my move I ended up working a 13.5h day and didn’t get home until 9:45 PM. I still had some last minute packing to do so I

didn’t end up getting to sleep until after midnight. The day of, it was pouring rain, and the movers ended up being 3 hours late. The whole move took about two hours, which left me with a room full of misplaced furniture and boxes that I was too exhausted to deal with at 8 PM. In the end, I got a bit of furniture shuffling and box organizing done before collapsing into bed at 10 PM. Anyways, enough of my moving day misfortune, on to the monthly wrap-up!

I only finished three books this month. Not because I was in a slump of any kind, but because I just did not have time. Regardless, the three books I did read this month were maybe my three favourite books of the summer. I know it’s a little early in the season to make such a sweeping statement, but these books were legitimately fantastic. The_Dark_Prophecy

The first book I completed in the month of June was The Dark Prophecy, the second book in Rick Riordan’s Trials of Apollo series. If you remember, last summer I did a full review of the first book in this series that sang its praises to the moon and b

ack. I loved it so much I had nary a bad thing to say, and this sequel is no different. It was heartwarming, hilarious, and everything you could possibly want from a Rick Riordan book. I can’t give too much of an in-depth review here, because spoilers, but if you’re a fan of Greek mythology and laugh-out-loud humour then you should definitely read this series, as well as all of Riordan’s other books. I gave this book a 5/5 on Goodreads.

Up next, was a book I read in almost one sitting, Geekerella by Ashley Poston. I started this book before I went to bed, stayed up way too late reading it, then woke up again in 
geekrella.pngthe morning to finish it off. This book was just so cute, and funny, and nerdy that I couldn’t put it down. I’m almost sad I read it so quickly because it was finished too soon. I want more! I want to re-read it and then read it again. This Cinderella retelling brings together the classic love story with the most accurate representation of fandom and nerd culture that I’ve read so far. I went into the book thinking it would be a light, fun read but I definitely teared up a couple of times. The culmination at the end was also incredibly satisfying, but now I want to read more about life after this book. I gave this book a 5/5 on Goodreads as well, and I think anyone who has ever belonged to a fandom of any kind should read this book because it is wonderful.

The final book I finished in June was another beautiful, cute, and funny, romantic read. When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon is the story of an arranged marriage that seems doomed from the get-go. Dimple is incredibly independent

when dimple met rishiand bright and is not interested in a relationship of any kind, let alone marriage. Rishi, however, is a hopeless romantic who thinks the arrangement is a great idea and travels to the coding camp Dimple is attending in order to woo her. This book has been getting love all over the internet ever since the arc was first released, and I can definitely say that all the hype 100% deserved. Read this book. You won’t regret it, I promise. Another 5/5 rating on Goodreads.

And that’s a wrap on my very short list of books I read in June. I’m closing out the month reading Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban and Dark Matter by Blake Crouch simultaneously. I’m very behind on my Harry Potterathon so I’ll need to up the ante during July, and hopefully read more than three books! Check in again next week to read about my full July TBR.

 

 

Leave a Reply

