July Wrap-Up

You guys I have failed so epically. I only read two books this month, and neither of them was the book I was supposed to read for the WSL Book Club. I don’t know what happened, or where July disappeared to, but here we are, August 1st and nothing to show for it. I will say, however, the two books I finished this month were both excellent.

I started the month by finishing off Prisoner of Azkaban, which still remains my favourite Harry Potter book. I just love the relationship Harry develops with Lupin, and I love how Lupin balances his feelings towards Harry as both his student and the son of his best friend. So good.

I tried to read the WSL Book Club book, Dark Matter by Blake Crouch, at the same time as HP3, but I had so much trouble stopping and waiting after every three chapters that I ended up putting it down and forgetting to pick it up again. Instead, I moved on to Red Queen by Victory Aveyard. This book killed me. It had so many unpredictable plot-twists that I just couldn’t put it down. I am dying to read the next book in the series but I’m waiting for it to come out in paperback so it matches. I gave this book a 4/5 on Goodreads, only because it was a slow burn book that took a while to set everything up.

The other book I completed this month was the concluding novel to Victoria Schwab’s Monsters of Verity, Our Dark Duet. This book gave me so many emotions that I’m just not prepared to talk about. Also, I can’t talk about it without giving away some major spoilers. All I can say is that it was an amazing conclusion to the duology and left me with many feels.

I finished off the month starting to read Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, and as I write this I am about halfway through. I completely forgot how long the last four books became, jumping from only around 300 words to almost 800. Woof. I am enjoying it immensely anyways.

I hate to jinx my reading numbers for next month, but I really do hope that I can get back to my regular levels! I hope you all had an excellent July and that August treats you just as well.

Leave a Reply

